Kim Eslinger
Editor
612-321-8040
kim@millcitymedia.org

David Tinjum
Publisher
612-321-8020
dave@millcitymedia.org

Ryan Ojard
Staff Photographer

Claudia Kittock
Columnist / Non-Profits

Kathleen Boe
River Matters Columnist

Meg Forney
Contributor

Doug Verdier
Contributor 

Mill City Times is a not-for-profit community service.  We do not sell advertising on this site.

Cultural Cornerstones
Search Mill City
Event Archives
Event Archives
« August 6, 2017, Sunday - Minneapolis Riverfront Walking Tour at the Mill City Museum | Main | August 6, 2017, Sunday - Open Streets Minneapolis: Northeast »
Sunday
Aug062017

August 6, 2017, Sunday - Historic East Hennepin Walking Tour with Preserve Minneapolis 

Time: 10:00am – 11:30am
.
Location: Corner of Main Street and East Hennepin
.
.
The bustling commercial district surrounding East Hennepin Avenue has hosted many names throughout the years, but everyone knows its unforgettable landmarks . . . Surdyk’s, Kramarczuk’s, Historic Main Street, and Lourdes Church.
.
Located across the Hennepin Bridge from Downtown, this neighborhood was originally established in 1855 as the Town of St. Anthony Falls and later merged with The City of Minneapolis in 1872. Its proximity to the Mississippi River, Downtown, the University, and Northeast Minneapolis have made it an influential hub for transit, industry, and commerce. The last decade has brought dramatic change and the area around East Hennepin is now considered one of the trendiest and most exciting places in Minneapolis to eat, shop, and live. Fortunately, the area has managed to maintain its old-world flavor to this day.
.
Join us for a “behind-the-scenes” history of the busy streets, unique businesses, and colorful people that have shaped this popular walking neighborhood.   Hear amazing stories told from the perspective of individuals who have lived and worked here, through good times and bad. Come away with perspectives on what life and work here might have actually felt like throughout this neighborhood’s most defining eras.
.
This tour will walk approximately 1.5 miles. The tour guides are Scott Parkin and Michael Rainville.