Kim Eslinger
Editor
612-321-8040
kim@millcitymedia.org

David Tinjum
Publisher
612-321-8020
dave@millcitymedia.org

Susan Schaefer
Reporter/Photographer
susan@millcitymedia.org

Julie Craven
Reporter/Photographer
julie@millcitymedia.org

Joan Bennett
Reporter/Columnist
joan@millcitymedia.org 

Claudia Kittock
Columnist / Non-Profits
claudia@millcitymedia.org 

Doug Verdier
Contributor 

Mill City Times is a not-for-profit community service.  We do not sell advertising on this site.

Cultural Cornerstones
Search Mill City
« March 8, 2017, Wednesday - Dan Navarro at Aster Cafe | Main | March 8, 2017, Wednesday - EO Entrepreneurs Rally 2017 at Aria Event Center »
Wednesday
Mar082017

March 8, 2017, Wednesday - American Craft Library Salon Series: Dr. Amy Elkins-The Craft of Survival 

Time: Doors open at 6:30pm, with the conversation starting at 7:00pm

Location: American Craft Council Library, 1224 Marshall Street NE, Suite 200

Library Salon Series: Dr. Amy Elkins: The Craft of Survival

For centuries, writers have been fascinated with finding ways to apply lessons from other art forms to literary texts. In some cases, authors use their experiences with other mediums to enrich their writing, creating texts in conversation with the dynamic history of arts and crafts. During World War II, the avant-garde poet H.D. (Hilda Doolittle) turned to needlepoint as a way to cope with the trauma of the Blitz on London, and her practice of needlework strongly influenced her literary craft.

Dr. Amy Elkins, an assistant professor of English at Macalester College, will trace the history of needlepoint from King Tut’s tomb and Florentine tapestries to Victorian drawing rooms and contemporary craftivism. Elkins also will use a recently discovered archive of H.D.’s needlework tapestries to show the enduring legacy of needlecrafts in narratives of survival. This event is free and open to the public.

The Library Salon Series is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a Minnesota State Arts Board Operating Support grant, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund. ACC thanks their sponsors: Minnesota State Arts Board and Northeast Bank. The Library Salon Series is free and open to the public; however, space is limited.

For more information:(612) 206-3100 or library@craftcouncil.org